Calgary Coun. Druh Farrell won’t be seeking re-election this fall

Farrell said the development of Calgary’s East Village should inspire the city’s next council to rebuild an emptying downtown

Article content

Longtime city councillor Druh Farrell has revealed she won’t be seeking re-election for her Ward 7 seat in Calgary’s upcoming municipal election.

Farrell, who has represented her ward since 2001, is the latest incumbent councillor who has announced they won’t be running for re-election in their ward in October, alongside Ward 8 Coun. Evan Woolley and Ward 12 Coun. Shane Keating.

“I won’t be running for re-election this fall. It won’t be me championing our Downtown into the coming decades,” Farrell wrote in an online article.

“We need bold leadership around the council table to ensure our Downtown is transformed into a true community where people will want to live, work, learn, and play for years to come. City-building is no easy task but, after 20 years around the council table, I can tell you it is worth it.”

Farrell said the development of Calgary’s East Village should inspire the city’s next council to rebuild an emptying downtown.

When the new Central Library opened in 2018, she said she visited every day during its first week to watch Calgarians explore the stunning atrium. She said some had tears in their eyes as they took it all in.

“This space was theirs. It was built for them. East Village shows transformation is possible. It’s worth the hard work. We can, and we must, build a downtown that future generations will be proud of,” she said.

Article content

Farrell has been a vocal proponent of spending on the arts, supported the Peace Bridge across the Bow River, helped to introduce blue cart recycling to the city and addressed accessibility in the city.

On Twitter, fellow councillor Jyoti Gondek — who has announced a mayoral run in the coming election — thanked Farrell for her service and friendship.

“Druh — you’ve poured your heart into this city. You’ve taught us to stay committed to the vision of an optimistic and inclusive future,” Gondek said.

At least six of the 14 seats will be up for grabs in this fall’s election. Only five councillors have announced their campaign for re-election in their wards thus far, including Councillors George Chahal, Sean Chu, Diane Colley-Urquhart, Peter Demong and Jeff Davison.

Councillors Gondek and Jeromy Farkas have announced candidacies for mayor.
Twitter: @BabychStephanie

View Source